Donald Mike Waters Memorial Citizen of the Year Award Winners

Donald "Mike" Waters was a leader in our community until his death in 1999. In 2000, Town Council joined with other citizens on a volunteer Committee to honor Mr. Waters' memory. That Committee is responsible for gathering nominations for this annual award named in his honor.



The Committee uses the following criteria: service provided must be voluntary, and not the result of a paid position; individuals or groups do not have to be a resident of the borough, but their service must benefit the borough in some significant way; the service rendered must have been accomplished in the past 12 months or so, or it may also be for a lifetime of service. The Committee typically announces the recipient at a Town Council meeting in the fall of each year.

In 2021, the Chambersburg/Mike Waters Citizen of the Year Award has selected Ms. Dara Taylor as our honoree. Ms. Taylor has for many years dedicated herself to the welfare of the students of Benjamin Chambers elementary School. She has purchased T-shirts for end-of-year school activities for those students who couldn't afford them; she's purchased birthday gifts for school employees' children; and has provided basic necessities such as groceries and rent money for underprivileged families of students. She is almost a surrogate mother or grandmother to the kids of the school. She also donates to Network Ministries, providing hand-made cupcakes, sandwiches, and finger foods for their after-school programs. For those people who are uncomfortable taking rides from strangers, Dara has started a charitable Uber style pick-up service that asks only for reimbursement for gas money. Ms. Dara Taylor truly exemplifies the spirit of giving back to the community that Mike Waters displayed all those years ago. As she has said: "That's what I love to do. It's just helping people. I'm going to give back until I die. Period." Former recipients include:

2000 Ray Depuy 2001 Yvonne Butts-Mitchell 2002 Levester Taylor 2003 Wayne Mowrey 2004 Yvonne Tomi Jones

Donald Mike Waters Memorial Citizen of the Year Award Winners

2005 Will Pananes

2006 Clint Bolte

2007 Jack Jones

2008 John Shearer

2009 Sam Gillespie

2010 Esther Wagner

2011

2012 Louisa C. Cowles

2013 Rev. Jeff Diller

2014 Robert L. Hewitt

2015 Samuel King

2016 Ruth Ann Bigler

2017 Paul Cullinane

2018 John Massa

2019 Donna Snyder

2020 Craig Cordell

Please contact Jamia Wright, Borough Secretary, at 717-251-2437 or jwright@chambersburgpa.gov if you have questions or if you would like to receive information about how to nominate someone for this award.